Chief Librarian Larry Alford awarded the 2018 Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award

University of Toronto Libraries Chief Librarian Larry P. Alford has been named the 2018 winner of the Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award by the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL) a division of the American Library Association (ALA).  

Named in honor of one of the pioneers of library automation, the Atkinson Award recognizes an academic librarian who has made significant contributions in the area of library automation or management and has made notable improvements in library services or research.

“The committee selected Larry P. Alford because of his distinguished career as an academic librarian, including his outstanding experience in library automation and library management, as well as his demonstrated risk taking in redesigning library spaces and securing funding for renovations,” said Theresa S. Byrd, Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award committee chair and dean of the Copley Library at the University of San Diego. “As chair of the OCLC Board, Larry focused on technology, and he is currently involved with linked data, digital preservation, entrepreneurship, and research data management projects.”

Read the complete announcement from the American Library Association here.