Staff Development Committee

Formed in 1996, the Staff Development committee has a mandate to advise and assist Library Human Resources in developing, recommending and implementing staff development opportunities in the libraries. The Committee places great value on the importance of its member composition to ensure all staff units within the University of Toronto Libraries have a representative voice.  

Meetings and minutes:
Meetings are held on the 4th Thursday of each month from 10:00am-11:00am generally in the Reference and Research Services meeting room on the 4th floor of Robarts Library.  Minutes and other committee documents are posted for all staff on our Staff Development Committee Home Confluence space.

Committee members (May 1, 2019 – April 30, 2020):
The current committee members are Darlene Chow, Susan Gropp, Julie Hannaford, Neil Romanosky (Ex-officio positions); Jack Leong, Elena Springall, Christina Tooulias-Santolin (librarian positions); Richard Hydal, Chris Finley, Halyna Kozar (CUPE 1230 or USW 1998 positions) and Courtney Lederer (Professional/Managerial (PM) staff or Confidential staff position). Richard Hydal and Elena Springall co-chair this committee.

Current annual report | previous annual reports

Focus groups were held in March & April 2009 to assist the Committee in planning activities by finding out from Library staff their ideas for job-related and personal interest activities sponsored by the Staff Development Committee.

View the Focus Group Report


Comments & Suggestions, email